Canon Collins Trust Scholarships 2019/2020 for Masters Study in the UK

Applications are invited from interested and suitably qualified candidates for the 2019/2020 Canon Collins Trust Scholarships for masters study in the UK. The Canon Collins Trust Scholarships is open to students from Southern Africa (Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe) for scholarships for Masters study in 2019/2020.


Canon Collins Trust Scholarships

Canon Collins Trust Scholarships Programme aim to help build the human resources necessary for economic, social and cultural development in the southern African region and to develop an educated and skilled workforce that can benefit the wider community. Canon Collins Trust scholarship holders are thus expected to use the knowledge, training and skills acquired through their studies to contribute positively to the development of their home country.

Scholarships fall under several different schemes, with some administered in partnership with the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office and UK universities.

Over the past 30 years the Trust has supported over 3,000 inspirational individuals who are now making their contributions through governments, NGOs, business and universities.

Canon Collins Trust Scholarships  Eligible African Countries

Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

To be taken at: the following UK Universities;

  • School of Oriental and African Studies
  • University of Sussex
  • University of Edinburgh

Accepted Subject Areas: All Subjects

By what Criteria is Selection Made? 

Applicants for all schemes within the UK Scholarship Programme will be assessed on the basis of the information that they supply on their application form in addition to the criteria outlined below:

  • Demonstrable leadership qualities
  • Demonstrated commitment
  • Quality and relevance of work experience, including work reference, and other skills
  • Financial Need and the potential to contribute to Southern Africa’s future prosperity
  • Academic record and academic reference
  • Relevance of proposed course
  • Intended career path
  • Likely future impact
  • Completion of form:
    • Demonstrate a high standard of English with no spelling and language errors
    • Answer all of the questions fully and with attention to detail
    • Provide all the necessary documentation and supporting documents.

Canon Collins Trust Scholarships Eligibility

To apply for a scholarship under this programme you must:

  • Be a national of, or have refugee status, in one of the following countries: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
  • Be normally resident in southern Africa
  • Be in possession of a good first degree (minimum second class, upper division or equivalent) or about to graduate in the year of application
  • Be applying for a full-time one-year taught masters course at one of the above named universities.
  • Have at least 2 years work experience in a relevant field

What are the benefits? Full tuition fees, a monthly stipend, a return economy flight, a settling-in allowance and other support whilst in the UK.

How long will sponsorship last? All scholarships are for postgraduate masters taught study for one academic year.

How to Apply for Canon Collins Trust Scholarships

Applicants can access the application forms and guidelines on the webpage. Applicants must apply to their chosen universities separately and awards are conditional on the applicant being offered a place at the relevant university.

Application Deadline: 25th February 2019 at 17:00 UK time.

For more information, visit the Canon Collins Trust Scholarships.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *