University of Strathclyde Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2020/2021

University of Strathclyde Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2020/202 for Students from African/Developing Countries. Apply now.


University of Strathclyde Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are offered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) in partnership with UK universities. These scholarships are intended for candidates from least developed and lower middle income Commonwealth countries for full-time Masters study on selected courses. Funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), these Scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development, and are aimed at those who could not otherwise afford to study in the UK.


Eligible Field(s) of Study: The eligible courses for 2020 are:

  • MSc Applied Economics
  • MSc Entrepreneurship, Innovation & Technology
  • MSc Finance
  • MSc Electronic and Electrical Engineering
  • MSc Sustainable Engineering: Renewable Energy Systems and the Environment
  • MSc Environmental Engineering
  • MSc Diplomacy & International Security

University of Strathclyde Commonwealth Shared Scholarships Eligibility

To apply for these scholarships, you must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person;
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country;
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in Sep/Oct 2020;
  • Hold a first degree of *at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Masters degree). The CSC would not normally fund a second UK Master’s degree. 
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country (as classified by the World Bank);
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship.

*The University will give preference to candidates who already hold a first degree with FIRST CLASS HONOURS (or equivalent).


Selection Criteria: Applications will be considered according to the following selection criteria:

  • Academic merit
  • Quality of Study Plan
  • Potential impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country.

Eligible Countries: Bangladesh, Cameroon, Gambia, The, Ghana, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Eswatini, Tanzania, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia

Value of Award: Tuition Fees, Living costs, return travel to UK and other expenses

Duration of Award: One-off award

How to Apply for University of Strathclyde Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

Interested and suitably qualified persons should CLICK HERE to apply.

For more information, visit the University of Strathclyde Commonwealth Shared Scholarships.

Application Deadline: 18th December 2019


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *