Summary of the New Education Reforms in Ghana

The new education reforms have been released by the Ministry of Education (MOE), the Ghana Education Service (GES), and the National Council for Curriculum Assessment (NCCA).

The Ministry of Education(MoE), Ghana Education Service (GES), and the National Council for Curriculum Assessment (NCCA) have released new reforms in the education sector. The major reforms aim to transform teaching and learning and improve educational outcomes

Summary of New Education Reforms Outline By MoE, GES & NCCA

1. Kindergarten, primary school, JHS, and SHS shall all be described as basic schools. JHS 1, 2, 3, and SHS 1 shall now be referred to as BS 7,8,9 and 10
respectively i. e. SHS 1 shall now be called BS 10

2. All students in JHS 1 – SHS 1 shall run a Common Core Programme called CP which comprises of 9 subjects; namely – Maths, Languages, Science, RME (stand-alone subject), Physical and Health Education (not examinable), Career Technology, Social Studies, Computing, and Creative Art and Design.

3. A new examination called National Standard Assessment Test (NSAT) shall be conducted at Primary 2, 4, 6, and JHS 2.

4. BECE shall be replaced by placement exams at JHS 3 to enroll students into SHS 1.

5. Students in SHS1 shall continue to run the common core programme for one year thus students into SHS1 shall not select Science, Busines, or Arts Programmes.

6. At the end of SHS1, Students shall write Common Core Exams into SHS 2.

7. At SHS 2, students will now have to select either a career-related programme which includes vocational and technical programmes, or high school Diploma programmes such as science, business, arts.

8. This means Elective subjects shall start in SHS 2.

9. Wassce will be replaced by university entrance exams at SHS 3.

10. Students after successful completion of SHS 3 will be rewarded a Diploma Certificate instead of WASSCE certificate.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *