Full List of Chief Justices in Ghana Since Independence


The full list of chief justices in Ghana since independence in 1957.

Justice Kwasi Anin-Yeboah was on Tuesday 7th January 2020 sworn into office as the 14th Chief Justice of the country by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akuf-Addo.

He succeeded Sophia Akuffo as the first male chief justice of Ghana in twelve years.

Profile of Justice Kwasi Anin-Yeboah

Justice Kwasi Anin-Yeboah is the current Chief Judge of the Supreme Court of Ghana. He was nominated by the President in December 2019 as the Chief Justice of Ghana.

Anin Yeboah was born in Toase in the Ashanti Region of Ghana. He attended Amaniampong Secondary School and Apam Secondary School and then moved to the University of Ghana and the Ghana School of Law where he graduated in 1981.

List of Chief Justices in Ghana Since Independence

Below is the full list of Former Chief Justices

1 Sir David Patrick Chambers   1876-1878
2 P.A. Smith Esq.     1878-1879
3 Sir James Marshall   1880-1882
4 N. Lessingham Balley Esq.  1882-1886
5 H.W. Macleod    1886-1889
6 J.T. Hutchinson Esq.     188-1895
7 Sir William Brandford Grififith   1895-1911
8 Philip Crampton Symly   1911-1928
9 Sir  George Campbell Deane    1929-1935
10 Sir Philip Bertie Petrides  1936-1943
11 Sir Walter Harrangin  1943-1947
12 Sir Mark Wilson  1948-1956
13 Sir Arku Korsah, Esq.  1956-1963
14 J. Sarkodie-Addo, Esq.  1964-1966
15 Edward Akuffo Addo    1966-1970
16 E.A.L. Bannerman, Esq.  1970-1972
17 Samuel Azu Crabbe, Esq.   1973-1977
18 F.K. Apaloo, Esq.  1977-1986
19 E.N.P. Sowah, Esq.    1986-1990
20 Philip Edward Archer, Esq.  1991-1995
21 Isaac Kobina Abban, Esq.   1995-2001
22 Edward Kwame Wiredu   2001-2003
23 George Kingsley Acquah    2003-2007
24 Georgina Theodora Wood   2007-2017
25 Sophia A. B. Akuffo 2017- 2020
26 Anin Yeboah 2020- Date


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here